The Biggest Challenge at the Guerilla Race 2014 – 21k Panther Edition

happy pics before race officials questioned me in front of elite runner to appease her
happy pics before race officials questioned me in front of elite runner to appease her

Dear Guerilla Race Organizers,

I came in THIRD at the 21k race finish line but an elite runner claimed she was the one who really finished third. Guerilla Race officials decided to question me and test my memory of the obstacles, routes, roads, “clubhouse”, etc. I encountered along the way.  It was explained to me that elite runner was part of the top three that ALWAYS won their races.  I had to prove myself and i failed. Although I frequently double-checked and asked for directions from race marshals along the route, perhaps I missed a turn. Fortunately for Guerilla Race organizers, I had no intention of being dishonest during your “interview”.

Perhaps trying to not get lost along the course was all part of the challenge.

I just wonder… why was I the only one required to prove myself? Why were the others not questioned also, even just for the impression of fairness? Should non-elite runners really expect this kind of treatment? Is this the fair and impartial system implemented for all your past and future guerilla races?

I paid for 21k so that I could run 21k regardless of whether I won something or not. If I wanted a shortcut, I would have signed up for 5k. I completed all my obstacles and incurred no burpee penalties. If I missed a turn, then there were not enough signs and marshals along the way. And if you listed me in third place, the verification should not have been done at my INCONVENIENCE only.

After all, I had already been shortchanged for the 21k course I paid for.

Perhaps more money should be spent on the betterment of the race course for all instead of on the awarding of hefty cash prizes to the few.

I wish I could send you back my finisher’s medal and shirt without further inconveniencing myself.

Sincerely,

Mirell
21k Registered Runner

‪#‎respectforallrunners‬
not ‪#‎guerillarace‬ not ‪#‎guerillarace2014‬

Leave a comment